2019 Annual Meeting

The 9th Annual Meeting of the Consortium of Christian Study Centers will be held this summer at beautiful Techny Towers Conference & Retreat Center in Techny, Illinois. Located on Chicago’s North Shore only 30 minutes from both downtown Chicago and from O’Hare airport, Techny Towers’ spacious grounds provide a perfect place for the combination of reflective thought and communal work that characterizes our Annual Meeting. As we have for a number of years, we will begin at 1:30 pm on Monday and conclude at noon on Wednesday. The dates for this year’s meeting are August 5-7, 2019.

As always we will be considering what it means to answer the call of Christ in a university environment. Our speaker are Drs. Ken Elzinga and Elizabeth Corey.  You can find their full biographies below.  Check back on this page in the coming months as we add more details about the workshops we will have this year, and a full schedule of the meeting.


∼ Speakers ∼



Dr. Kenneth G. Elzinga is the Robert C. Taylor Chair in Economics at the University of Virginia. He was the first recipient of the Cavaliers’ Distinguished Teaching Professorship at the University, a recipient of the Alumni Association’s Distinguished Professor Award, the Commonwealth of Virginia’s Outstanding Faculty Award, as well as awards in education from the Kenan and Templeton foundations. In 1992, he was given the Thomas Jefferson Award, the highest honor the University of Virginia accords its faculty.

Mr. Elzinga’s major research interest is antitrust economics, especially pricing strategy and market definition. He has testified in several precedent-setting antitrust cases.  The author of more than seventy academic publications, he also is known for three mystery novels, co-authored with William Breit (under the pen name Marshall Jevons) where the protagonist employs economic analysis to solve the crime.


Dr. Elizabeth Corey joined the Honors Program’s faculty in 2007 and has served as Director since 2015. She earned a B.A. in classics from Oberlin College, an M.A. in art history from Louisiana State University (LSU) and an M.A. and Ph.D. in political science from LSU. She has taught courses at Baylor on political science, great texts and in the Baylor Interdisciplinary Core. She has earned several awards for research and teaching, and was a 2016-2017 Robert Novak Journalism Fellow. Her book, Michael Oakeshott on Religion, Aesthetics, and Politics, was published by the University of Missouri Press in 2006. She writes for First Things and serves on the board of the Institute on Religion and Public Life. She has also published in The Atlantic, The Chronicle of Higher Education, National Affairs and in a variety of scholarly journals. During the 2018-19 academic year she is the American Enterprise Institute’s Values and Capitalism Visiting Professor.


∼ Registration Form ∼


This year we added a new option to our registration fee “Off-Site Lodging,” if you choose to lodge at another location and attend the conference.  To take advantage of an early discount, please complete the registration form below and submit payment on or before May 17, 2019All registration fees are non-refundable after June 30.  If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Elaine at [email protected] or 434-296-3333.


Registration Fee – Please select the registration fee from the drop-down menu.  Once selected, click on the “Pay Now” button to finish your transaction.  Thank you!